2017 Call for Award Nominations

PAA is pleased to announce its annual call for award nominations for 2017.   The following awards are open for nominations.  Recipients will be honored at the 2017 PAA Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL.

All nominations are due to their respective committee chairs by December 31, 2016.

Robert J. Lapham Award

Committee Chair: Mary Beth Ofstedal, University of Michigan

The Robert J. Lapham Award recognizes members of PAA who contributed to the population profession through the application of demographic knowledge to policy issues. The recipient does not have to be a member of the Association. The award consists of a plaque and a cash prize.

The award is given biennially to individuals who have distinguished themselves by their achievements in the following areas: contributions to population research, applications of demographic knowledge to improve the human condition, and service to the population profession.

Such contributions may be original research or efforts that increase our knowledge of population processes by enabling others to conduct research. Examples of the latter would be directing population surveys, creating a statistical system, or administering a program to facilitate demographic research. Applications of population knowledge to improve the human condition may be contributions to public policy, education, or program development. Service to the population profession may be building institutions within the profession, or service that advances the interests of the profession.

The name of the nominee, a brief description of his or her contributions in a nominating letter, and a copy of the nominee’s vitae should be sent, no later than December 31, 2016 to Mary Beth Ofstedal, University of Michigan.

Harriett B. Presser Award

Committee Chair: Deborah DeGraff, Bowdon College

The biennial award was first presented at the 2009 PAA annual meeting. The award honors a record of sustained research contributions to the study of gender and demography.

Nominations for the 2017 award should include a concise summary of the nominee’s research contributions and accomplishments (one page) as well as a curriculum vita. Nominations should be submitted by e-mail (with “Presser Nomination” in the subject line) no later than December 31, 2016 to the chair Deborah DeGraff, Bowdon College.

Irene B. Taeuber Award

Committee Chair: Doug Massey, Princeton University

The Irene B. Taeuber award is presented in recognition of an unusually original or important contribution to the scientific study of population, or for an accumulated record of exceptionally sound and innovative research. It is presented every other year at the annual meeting of the Association and consists of a cash award and a plaque.

The next award will be presented on April 28, 2017 at the meeting in Chicago. Nominations for the 2017 award should include a one-page summary of the nominee’s contributions and accomplishments; a selected list of the important demographic positions the nominee has held, and his or her most significant publications or presentations (no longer than one page). Nominations should be submitted by e-mail no later than December 31, 2016 to chair Doug Massey, Princeton University.

Dorothy S. Thomas Award

Committee Chair: Jeffrey Passel, Pew Research Center

Pre- or postdoctoral students are invited to submit papers for the 2017 Dorothy S. Thomas Award competition. The Award has been established by the Population Association of America (PAA) in honor of Dorothy S. Thomas and is presented annually for the best graduate student paper on the interrelationships among social, economic, and demographic variables. The Award consists of a cash prize and a plaque to be presented on April 28 during the PAA Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Eligibility: The research must be undertaken while the author is a pre-doctoral student in an accredited graduate program. The paper must have both theoretical and empirical aspects. Two or more students may share the award for a collaborative study, but a paper jointly authored by a student and a member of the faculty is not eligible. An individual is eligible for one year following completion of the study. Published papers are acceptable. Recipients of the Ph.D. prior to December 1, 2015 and previous winners of the award are not eligible.

Length: The paper should be journal length; 12,000 words (including main text, references, end/footnotes, and appendix text) and 10 tables and graphs (combined, including appendices). Papers that exceed this limit will not be considered.

Submission Procedures: The deadline for receipt of submission is December 31, 2016. Students should email the paper and a letter from their research advisor confirming eligibility by email to the committee chair, Jeffrey Passel, Pew Research Center. The Committee reserves the right to withhold the award if it decides that no suitable paper was submitted.