PAA is a non-profit, scientific, professional organization that promotes research on population issues.

Login

Officers, Board & Past Presidents

2015 Officers

steve-ruggles

President

Steven Ruggles
Regents Professor of History
Director, Minnesota Population Center
University of Minnesota

Learn More

Photo credit: Canghuixu

President-Elect

Judith Seltzer
Professor
University of California-Los Angeles

Learn More

lynne-casper

Vice President

Lynne Casper
Professor of Sociology
University of Southern California

Learn More

e-frankenberg

Vice President-Elect

Elizabeth Frankenberg
Professor, Economics
Duke University

Learn More

liana-sayer

Secretary-Treasurer

Liana Sayer
Professor and Graduate Director
Department of Sociology
University of Maryland

Learn More

robert-moffitt

Past President

Robert Moffitt
Professor of Economics
Johns Hopkins University

Learn More

All offices have a term of one calendar year except that of Secretary-Treasurer, which is a three-year term, beginning and ending mid-year. The President also serves three years on the Board: one year as President-elect, one year as President, and one year as Past President.

Jason Boardman (2017)
University of Colorado at Boulder
boardman@colorado.edu 

Susan L. Brown (2015)
Bowling Green University
brownsl@bgnet.bgsu.edu

Sarah Burgard (2017)
University of Michigan
burgards@umich.edu 

Marcia Carlson (2016)
University of Wisconsin, Madison
carlson@ssc.wisc.edu

Rebecca Clark (2017)
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
rclark@mail.nih.gov

Shelley Clark (2016)
McGill University
shelley.clark@mcgill.ca

Parfait Eloundou-Enyegue (2016)
Cornell University
pme7@cornell.edu

Guang Guo (2015)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
guang_guo@unc.edu

Michael Hout (2015)
New York University
mikehout@nyu.edu 

Kelly Raley (2016)
University of Texas, Austin
kraley@prc.utexas.edu

Michael Rendall
University of Maryland
mrendall@umd.edu

Narayan Sastry (2015)
University of Michigan
nsastry@isr.umich.edu

Directors serve for three years, beginning January 1 of the year following the election. There are 12 Directors, with four assuming office each year. The Board, which includes the Directors and Officers, meets twice a year, in the Spring (Wednesday before the Annual Meeting in the convention hotel), and Fall (late October or early November in Washington, DC). The PAA Executive Director is asked to attend. The date for the Fall meeting is usually set at the Spring meeting.

Past Members of the Board of Directors 1991 – Present

View a list of the past members of PAA’s board of directors.

Past Officers 1991 – Present

View a list of past officers of PAA.

Past Presidents – 1931-2013