Greg J. Duncan

Duncan headshot

Greg Duncan spent the first 25 years of his career at the University of Michigan working on and ultimately directing the Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) data collection project. Since 1968, the PSID has collected economic, demographic, health, behavior and attainment data from a representative sample of U.S. individuals and the households in which they reside. With these and other data he studied the economic mobility of the U.S. population, both within and across generations, with a particular focus on low-income families. More specifically, Greg investigated the roles families, peers, neighborhoods and public policy play in affecting the life chances of children and adolescents.

Greg’s research has highlighted the importance of early childhood as a sensitive period for the damaging influences of economic deprivation as well as for the beneficial impacts of policy-induced income increases for working families. The focus of his more recent research has shifted from these environmental influences to the comparative importance of the skills and behaviors developed during childhood. In particular, he sought to understand the relative importance of early academic skills, cognitive and emotional self-regulation, and health in promoting children’s eventual success in school and the labor market.

Greg was elected president of the Population Association of America for 2008 and president of the Society for Research in Child Development for 2009-2011. He was also elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001 and to the National Academy of Sciences in 2010. In 2013, Greg was awarded the Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize.
Bio courtesy of University of California, Irvine.

List of Donors:
Anamarie Auger
Andrew Penner
Duncan Thomas
Emma  Adam
Christine Bachrach
Johanne Boisjoly
Susan Brown
Tim-Allen Bruckner
Marcia Carlson
Flavio Cunha
Rachel Dunifon
Paula England
Frank  Furstenberg
Christina Gibson-Davis
Guang Guo Guo
Kathleen Harris
Heather Hill
Jade Jenkins
Lori Kowaleski Jones
Thomas McDade
Sara McLanahan
Kristin Moore
Jayanti Owens
Emily Penner
Aaron Sojourner
Judith Treas
Deborah Vandell
Eleanor Weis
James  Ziliak
Kathleen Ziol-Guest