Guidelines for Proposing a New Award

The Population Association of America has a series of awards that are presented on a regular basis. New award recommendations are welcome, but must fit in with the current array of awards. Please review the awards listed below to ensure your proposed award does not overlap with an existing award. The PAA Award Committee will review your proposal and a final decision will be made by the PAA Board. The PAA President will retain control over committee membership and awards are reviewed on a regular basis. Please be sure to include the following information in your request: purpose, justification, frequency, funding (PAA requires $38,000 minimum as starting funds for awards), requested application materials, and review criteria for the award. Individuals or groups may propose awards named after living or deceased PAA members.

2016 Award Winners

Click the links below to view the presentation of each award.
Clifford C. Clogg Award
Jennifer Van Hook, Penn State University

Mindel C. Sheps Award
Wolfgang Lutz, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis

Dorothy S. Thomas Award
Jason Kerwin, University of Minnesota

PAA Early Achievement Award
Jenna Nobles, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Aliya Saperstein, Stanford University


Award Criteria and Past Recipients

Clifford C. Clogg Award for Mid-Career Achievement Award Criteria and Past Recipients

Robert J. Lapham Award Criteria and Past Recipients

Harriet B. Presser Award Criteria and Past Recipients

Mindel C. Sheps Award Criteria and Past Recipients

Irene B. Taeuber Award Criteria and Past Recipients

Dorothy S. Thomas Award Criteria and Past Recipients

PAA Early Achievement Award Criteria and Recipients

PAA Excellence in Public Service Award Criteria and Past Recipients