Award Criteria and Past Recipients: Excellence in Public Service

In 2008, the PAA Board of Directors created the Excellence in Public Service Award to honor federal, state, and local policymakers who have supported population research and the federal agencies that fund it.

The PAA Government and Public Affairs Committee recommends potential recipients, which are then reviewed and approved by the PAA Board of Directors. The award may be given annually or biennially. The award is announced at the PAA Annual Meeting awards ceremony prior to the Presidential address.

Recipients to Date:

Allen Cutler
, Senate Appropriations Committee
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
Jennifer Madans, National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

Erik Fatemi
, former Clerk, Senate Labor, Health and Human Services and Education Appropriations Subcommittee

U. S. Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Dr. Richard J. Hodes, Director, National Institute on Aging

U. S. Congressman David Price (D-NC)

U.S. Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney
Bettilou Taylor, Former Minority Clerk. Senate Appropriations Committee Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services
Katherine Wallman, U.S. Chief Statistician, Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget

Dr. Duane Alexander
, National Institutes of Health

U.S. Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)