Annual Awards

The Harriet B. Presser Award

Harriet B. Presser was a sociologist, demographer and a distinguished professor at the University of Maryland, College Park department of sociology. She founded the first population center in the world, named “The University of Maryland Center on Population, Gender and Social Inequality,” and directed it from 1987 to 2002.

This biennial award was first presented at the 2009 PAA annual meeting. The award honors a record of sustained research contributions to the study of gender and demography and consists of a plaque and a cash prize. 

Nominations will open in Fall 2024.

2023 Harriet B. Presser Award Winner

Elizabeth Heger Boyle, University of Minnesota

Past Award Recipients

  • 2021: Diana Greene Foster
  • 2019: Jennifer Glass
  • 2017: Frances Goldscheider
  • 2015: Paula England
  • 2013: Ruth Dixon-Mueller
  • 2011: Karen Oppenheim Mason
  • 2009: Valerie K. Oppenheimer