Annual Awards

Excellence in Public Service Award

In 2008, the PAA Board of Directors created the Excellence in Public Service Award to honor federal, state, and local policymakers who have supported population research and the federal agencies that fund it.

The PAA Government and Public Affairs Committee recommends potential recipients, which are then reviewed and approved by the PAA Board of Directors. The award may be given annually or biennially. The award is announced at the PAA Annual Meeting awards ceremony prior to the Presidential address.

2020 Excellence in Public Service Award Winners

  • Dr. John Haaga, Director, Division of Behavioral and Social Research, National Institute on Aging (retired)
  • Congressman Jose Serrano (D-NY)
  • Senator Gary Peters (D-MI)

Past Award Recipents