Annual Awards

The Dorothy S. Thomas Award

The Dorothy S. Thomas Award has been established by the Population Association of America (PAA) in honor of Dorothy S. Thomas and is presented annually for the best graduate student paper on the interrelationships among social, economic and demographic variables. The Award consists of a cash prize and a certificate to be presented during the PAA Annual Meeting.

The research must be undertaken while the author is a pre-doctoral student in an accredited graduate program. The paper must have both theoretical and empirical aspects. Two or more students may share the award for a collaborative study, but a paper jointly authored by a student and a member of the faculty is not eligible. An individual is eligible for one year following completion of the study. Published papers are acceptable. Recipients of the Ph.D. prior to January 1, 2020 and previous winners of the award are not eligible. Nominees should exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. 

The members of the 2021 committee are: Randall Kuhn, University of California-Los Angeles (Chair); Christina Cross, Harvard University; Reanne Frank, The Ohio State University; Margot Moinester, Harvard University; Andrew Noymer, University of California, Irvine; Bryan Andrew Stuart, University of Michigan. The Committee reserves the right to withhold the award if it decides that no suitable paper was submitted.

2021 Dorothy S. Thomas Award Winner

"Social disadvantage, economic status, and life expectancy in nine Indian states" 

Sangita Vyas, University of Texas-Austin
Payal Hathi, University of California-Berkeley
Aashish Gupta, University of Pennsylvania

Past Award Recipients

  • 2020: Christina Cross
  • 2019: Margot Moinester
  • 2018: Bryan A. Stuart
  • 2017: Eric Chyn
  • 2016: Jason Kerwin
  • 2015: Olga Malkova
  • 2014: J. M. Ian Salas
  • 2013: Deirdre Bloome and Christopher M. Muller
  • 2012: Gil Shapira
  • 2011: Michal Engelman
  • 2010: Margaret Gough and Alexandra Killewald
  • 2009: Yan Yu
  • 2008: Christopher Wildeman
  • 2007: Amy Hsin
  • 2006: Kate W. Strully
  • 2005: Jason Fletcher
  • 2004: Amelie Quesnel-Vallee
  • 2003: Sarah Burgard
  • 2002: Adrianna Lleras-Muny
  • 2001: J. David Hacker
  • 2000: Theodore Mouw
  • 1999: Kelly A. Musick
  • 1998: Marin Clarkberg
  • 1997: John Iceland and Heather Koball
  • 1996: Clea Sucoff
  • 1995: Narayan Sastry
  • 1994: Parfait M. Eloundou-Enyegue and Zai Liang
  • 1993: Elizabeth Frankenberg
  • 1992: Martin Brockerhoff
  • 1991:  Deborah A. Cobb-Clark
  • 1990: Rebecca L. Clark
  • 1989: Jane E. Miller and Andrew R. Morrison
  • 1988: Jane Mauldon
  • 1987: Andrew Foster and Zeng Yi
  • 1986: Rachel Connelly and Arline T. Geronimus
  • 1985: Sherrie Kossoudji and Insan Tunali
  • 1984: Patrick Galloway
  • 1983: David A. Lam
  • 1982: Mary Kay Falconer and Peter A. Rog
  • 1981: S. S. Halli and Frank Trovato
  • 1980: Joan M. Herold